Drive Home Reviews: Prometheus

Drive Home Reviews discusses the sci-fi epic Prometheus on the way home from the movie on opening night. See what SITB thought of the film and leave your thoughts on the movie and on Drive Home Reviews in the comments section below.

About PhilMMCritics

3 pals (Phil S., Rob M., Mark M.) who all find irrational amounts of enjoyment from everything related to the movies. Hell, we even love the Fathom Events trailers. Come to our site for assortments of movie posts, podcasts and our original series “Drive Home Reviews”.

One thought on “Drive Home Reviews: Prometheus

  1. Per Rob’s prodding, thought I’d leave some comments. Was planning on just saying my thoughts on Prometheus but because I watched your video I’ll mostly just reply to it.

    Phil, if you’re going to reference one of the characters in a movie, mention what character he/she plays in the movie!!! David was an incredible character, but because I didn’t know his real name was Michael Fassbender and I haven’t seen such timeless classics as X-men First Class and Shame, I had no idea who you were talking about till I looked him up. And I also think you miss his whole point, or maybe you guys just didn’t feel like talking about it. He isn’t necessarily a good guy who turns bad. He’s a robot that supposedly wasn’t given a soul. Yet he is clearly intelligent and has an agenda of his own. I think in terms of his storyline, he provokes questions about the meaning of life itself. There are numerous occasions where it is clear that he wants to be rid of humans, yet at the end of the movie he asks the only survivor for help. I also liked how he studied human culture and chose to be like Lawrence of Arabia, who admits that he finds himself an extraordinary man. Then David has the little side remarks like “There is nothing in the dessert. No man needs nothing,” I believe taken from that movie too. A small thing I guess but I thought that was really great.

    Rob, I completely agree that the trailers didn’t give away too much. I thought it was going to be much more about the archaeological aspect of discovering the theory of where we came from and then like a sci-fi thriller. To me, it was actually more like a very deep story with real thought-provokers all happening in a horror movie.

    Of course, the movie had a few holes in it that we can discuss sometime in person, maybe at the nest haha. Generally speaking though, I thought it was a really good movie. Easily one of the best I have seen in a long time, and exactly the opposite of what I mean by how movies now seem to have no story. This definitely did, and I think it was a great one. And it also leaves some questions unanswered, I’m sure a sequel would be good too.

Leave a Reply

